To take part in discussions on talkSFU, please apply for membership (SFU email id required).

I don't know about you, but I feel like SFU is setting me up for failure

I am a transfer student from the US. A lot of my credits got transferred and I have less than 40 to graduate. I am in the PSYC program and I was looking forward to complete my degree at SFU and apply to their grad school.

My first semester was not the greatest because I took 4 courses and they were all in psychology. My advisor said that they were too concentrated but I am a transfer student and all I have left is psyc course and not electives. My 3.0 GPA on a 4.0 scale (3.33 on a 4.33 sfu scale) from my American University did not transfer. So I ended up having a GPA of that semester which was 2.28.

My second semester is pretty bad because it had a neuroscience class, stats and an intensive writing course. I thought I was making it easier by only taking 3, instead it was a tough semester because of the type of courses I took.

when I calculated what I need to apply for grad school, I need a GPA of 3.8, which means I need to have an A average on every class until I graduate, which even if I put the hard work, it may or may not be the case because of SFU's curve grading scale and because of what kind of TA I get who I believe they grade pretty harshly (this is a whole other topic).

Add to that, I need research experience which makes sense. But adding everything up together, it does not seem feasible for me to achieve grad school. I am an independent broke student, I work once or twice a week to help pay the bills and take loans. How am I supposed to get A's in every class, contribute hours to research experience AND work to pay the bills? and even all this does NOT guarantee grad school because of how ridiculously competitive it is.