To take part in discussions on talkSFU, please apply for membership (SFU email id required).

failing two courses...scared of academic probation?!

I'm currently a first year completing my first term at sfu. I made the mistake of taking poli sci and philosophy (critical thinking) and I'm failing miserably in both courses. For some people, poli sci is really easy but for me, I have no background knowledge towards politics and I don't find it interesting either. As for philosophy, no matter how hard I study, I just can't seem to understand the content. It's just so confusing and I feel like it's either I understand it or I don't. I only took these two courses as my QB requirements and I regret it so much. It's so frustrating because I know I'm not a student who would fail courses but these two courses are just so difficult for me? And now, I'm scared that I'll get put into academic probation...what will happen? It's only my first term and I'm already so miserable. Please give me some advice?

Comments

• If your CGPA is under 2.0 then yes, you will be placed on academic probation. It’s not necessarily scary but you may need to retake one of the courses
    To pull your gpa back up.