To take part in discussions on talkSFU, please apply for membership (SFU email id required).

First year student about to fail a course, need advice!

This is my first semester at university and I am about to fail a course. I still have a term paper to do for the course, but I am doing so bad that even if I get a good mark on the term paper I will still fail. So, is it even worth it to attempt the term paper knowing that I will fail anyway? Does it matter if I get 10% in a course as opposed to a 49%, since they are both fails anyway? How much does failing courses/getting bad marks in first year matter, especially if I wish to transfer into another faculty? I am currently a communications student doing very poorly this semester, getting a little above 50% in my other classes, but I have realized that I do not wish to continue studies in this faculty after this semester and plan on either transferring to computer sciences or dropping out and pursuing something else. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• I would try your hardest. In some courses if you don’t complete all components you will get an N instead of an F. An N looks worse than an F IMO, so I would complete the term paper. Also, make sure you do the term paper correctly such as the citation because you don’t want to get caught for plagiarism or anything.