To take part in discussions on talkSFU, please apply for membership (SFU email id required).

Time Management

edited March 2009 in General
Hey everyone,

As stuff start piling up, I found that I have a time management issue.

Right now, I got three major papers to work on and one of them is due next Wednesday. I also have a presentation due next Friday for my Tech and War course and I haven’t even started researching for it yet. Finally, I got the bomb shell from my Egyptian history course that the paper needs to be at least 16 pages, whereas I planned for only 10 pages MAX.

It is not so much that I start my paper a night before it is due and complain on the shout box that I need to pull an all nighter, but it is just that my writing process is slow.

I am a very slow writer and that is why I start my paper so early. Instead of writing what's on my mind, I had an elaborate system of writing an outline of my paper, visit my Profs in his/ her office hour and get it approved, write the paper, restructure the paper, and then edit. I found that if I didn't complete one step, I can't get started on the next step. If I am not happy with one step, I am not moving onto the next step.

Also, I wouldn't work on more than one paper at a time. Meaning that if I can't finish one, I can't start writing on the next few. This would pose a particular problem when I have two or more papers due at the same week.

Am I just too much of a perfectionist (even though profs have a field day with finding grammatical errors on my papers)? What can I do to speed up my writing?

Comments

• edited March 2009
    I have a somewhat similar problem to you, Student.