To take part in discussions on talkSFU, please apply for membership (SFU email id required).

Bank Account Fees...?

edited July 2008 in General
I've been with TD for 5-6 years and these assholes charge me 12.50 or so a month plus random fees for online transactions that are not clearly layed out.

Anyway, do banks have retention departments? My friend is telling me I should switch to a credit union where there are no monthly fees, do you think if I threaten to leave theyll offer any leverage?

Comments

• edited June 2008
    I have used TD for about eight years but since I am a student I don't get any fees.
  • edited June 2008
    I used to be with Scotia until I turned 18, and then they started charging me fees because apparently I wasn't the student age anymore...
    I'm with Coast Capital now. Really, really friendly and a great deal if you're looking for good savings account rates and the no-fees chequing. Their term deposit rates suck though (it's almost worth it just to keep the money in my savings instead of locking it in), but I can't complain.
  • edited June 2008
    the TD student account doesnt suit my needs i do too much banking so i exceed the transaction limit

im calling td tomorrow, vancity and coast capital are offering way better plans
  • edited June 2008
    PC Financial has completely no-fee banking. Unlimited debit and ATM transactions, free cheques, etc. I've been with them for a few years, don't really see myself with another bank, unless I need to do more complex stuff.
  • edited June 2008
    I am with HSBC and the only fee that I am aware of was the service fees that they charge when I withdraw money from my account.

Look guys, I haven't been involved with my finance until VERY recently when my mom gave me my bank passbook...
  • edited June 2008
    I think for my account, as long as the minimum is maintained, all the fees are waived
  • edited June 2008
    i'm on the boat with coast capital too and loving it so far..=)