To take part in discussions on talkSFU, please apply for membership (SFU email id required).

What language do you THINK in and why?

edited January 2007 in General
Almost all of the time I think in English, and very occassionally in Chinese. Hahaha, it's pretty weird, but I guess it's due to the fact that I'm studying in an English-medium school.

Comments

• edited December 2006
    English, but I grew up here and I am a native speaker so I think it would be very weird for me to think in, say, German. :tongue:
  • edited December 2006
    yeah i'm born here, and have always spoken english...but when i'm speaking to people in chinese, i'll think in chinese. but otherwise, english.

has anyone had dreams in another language???
    i had a dream in French when i was there this summer. probably because i was entirely immersed into it, being in the country and all.....i don't know whether the french was proper or not though haha
  • edited December 2006
    English, because it's the only language I speak.

Though I was in Quebec this summer on an exchange and I had to force myself to speak and think in French (difficult due to my limited vocabulary!) And I would have dreams in this strange French-ish language because I didn't know a lot of the words but I was so used to hearing them. It really did a number on my brain!
  • edited December 2006
    Mandarin
    English
    Taiwanese

depends on wut Im doin or who Im talkin to or wut language of books im readin
  • edited December 2006
    I never thought about that!! I think in English.. Because that's all i know
  • edited December 2006
    I think mostly in English
    but sometimes when I'm talking in Viet, I'll think in Vietnamese.
  • hta
    edited December 2006
    I think in English cuz I forgot how to speak other languages.
    I mean you are in English school (SFU) for so long that u dont use ur other languages and u eventually forget them.....
    This is true in my case....kind of.