To take part in discussions on talkSFU, please apply for membership (SFU email id required).

Caffeine

edited December 2006 in General
Only recently I've discovered that my body can't handle coffee anymore. It's like overload. Especially dark coffee. I go all weird, jumpy and my heart beat goes really really fast. Some days at school, I would get a vente size Starbucks. After drinking it, I feel like I'm getting a heart attack. My heart races like crazy and my hands shake uncontrollably. I've never had this problem before. I've been drinking coffee since I was six. I was gonna go to the doctor a while ago to ask what's up but I always forget. But yeah, sometimes I have no choice but to drink it. Especially after all-nighters or when I'm studying for an exam late at night.

I think I am becoming more dependent on green tea now. I know green tea is good for the heart and makes you live longer.. but, how much is too much? I drink at least four cups a day. Days when I study late (which is almost everyday), I drink at least 6 cups of green tea. Literally. I have no idea if that's good for me or not, but it works!!! Lol.......

Like right now, I'm on my 8th cup of tea and it's only 1 a.m. I am guessing that I will be all night studying considering how behind I am with studying. I am predicting about 2-3 more cups. But right now, I'm wide awake. :)

Green tea doesn't make my heart go fast like coffee does. I guess caffeine is less in tea? But yeah, can someone answer my question? How much green tea is too much? And why does my heart race and my hands shake when I drink coffee? Has anyone experienced that before?

Comments

• edited December 2006
    I think your body is telling you you need sleep
  • edited December 2006
    Coffee gives me diarrhea.....
  • edited December 2006