To take part in discussions on talkSFU, please apply for membership (SFU email id required).

Be Good to People...

edited April 2007 in General
Alright, so tonight I was walking around Yaletown/Downtown, and a random middle-aged woman asked me how to get to the granville skytrain. Even though I gave her directions, she still seemed lost so I decided, what the heck, I'll take her there (even though it was completely in the opposite direction)!
so during our walk she told me about how she just transferred from Paris to Vancouver for Business Objects, and she asked me what I wanted to do/what i'm studying in school. I told her that I'm planning on getting into some marketing/PM work. and she told me that path would be fit for me since I already proved to her that I am personable, that I have communication skills, etc. and we continued to talk about marketing related things...

when we finally arrived at the station, she gave me her business card and offered me an internship at Business Objects in June!!!!!
it's almost like the walk to the station was an interview lol.

i was not expecting that...but man...I AM SO EXCITED! :smile:

you just never know what'll come your way!!!!!!

Comments

• edited April 2007
    oh wow.. CONGRATS!! X) that was so unexpected.. hahaha.. so what position is she in at this company? man.. this is like an opportunity falling right into your lap.. =D
  • edited April 2007
    haha thankssss!! yeah i TOTALLY DID NOT expect that. talk about lucky eh?
    and because I didn't expect anything to come out of helping this woman, I was just being myself--holding up just a regular conversation as usual....

Well, she told me she usually works in Sales/Customer Planning and Analysis, but she also has a software engineering background. at Business Objects, she will be doing a little bit of IT work as well.
    :D

so yeah BE GOOD TO PEOPLE! :)
  • edited April 2007