To take part in discussions on talkSFU, please apply for membership (SFU email id required).

Does your parents ever look down on you b/c of your educational background?

edited March 2007 in General
Well, my mom does and it sorta bothers me just b/c she is my mom. My bro and sister goes to UBC. My brother is currently in the faculty of science and he may be heading to med school (and that's a big maybe) while my sister is working on her degree in Commerce. Since I graduated from SFU my mom tells her friends and relatives I'm the dumber child since I didn't graduate from UBC while she brags about my bro and sis cuz they go to UBC. At one point, my mom said SFU isn't even a real university whatever that means. On the other hand, I can't really tell my mom that I have more than a SFU education. I'm currently working on my Chartered Financial Analyst designation and will probably move on and complete the Chartered Accountant designation after that.

And really, I can't tell my mom how hard it is to get these designation cuz in her mind, the world revolves around UBC. She doesn't even realize that better Universities such as Ivey league schools exist.

Well this is mainly a rant. But does any of your parents feel that way about you and how do you handle it?

Comments

• edited March 2007
    At least your mom cares that you go to school! My mom couldn't remember what school I went to. I applied for a scholarship last year that required her to write a letter for me. She wouldn't do it. I had to write it myself and have her sign it. (I got the scholarship, btw)

She's be happy if I worked as an office assistant or something for the rest of my life. She only sees dollar signs and not the reasons for why I want to be a teacher.

Meh... parents.
  • edited March 2007
    if you are not asian, you won't understand why asian parents are doing this...