To take part in discussions on talkSFU, please apply for membership (SFU email id required).

LSAT One-on-One Tutoring

edited September 2006 in Tutoring
Thinking about taking the LSAT?
Don't want to pay $1500 for a classroom course?
Consider hiring a personal tutor for a few hours!
Save money and improve your LSAT score!

About me:

I have recently graduated from law school, and during law school I worked as an instructor for different LSAT companies, including The Princeton Review and Oxford Seminars. I have two-and-a-half years of LSAT teaching experience, and I have received strong teaching reviews from many of my students. During that time, I also tutored some students on the side, and I have roughly 150-200 hours of one-on-one tutoring experience.

Although I no longer work as a classroom instructor, I am still available for one-on-one tutoring. I can help you with all aspects of the LSAT, including overall test-taking strategies. Having written the LSAT myself and having spent nearly 3 years as an instructor, I am very familiar with the LSAT and I can help you improve your score.

Tutoring vs. Classroom Courses:

In my experience, tutoring is a much more effective method of preparing for the LSAT, since the teacher can adjust to the specific needs of each student, and focus on the areas where the student can improve the most. In a normal classroom environment, the teacher has no choice but to proceed at a particular speed, and to spend a set amount of time on each topic. This can be frustrating for almost all of the students in the class, who will inevitably find the pace to be either too fast or too slow, and the instruciton to be either too in-depth or not in-depth enough. An hour or two of solid one-on-one tutoring is often more useful to a student than an entire day in the classroom.

Rates and Other Information: